< Back

Washington State Hall of Fame - Class of 2021

The Washington State Chapter of USA Lacrosse is pleased to announce the Washington State Hall of Fame Class of 2021.

Keith MacFie – Official

Keith MacFie became an official in 1992. He is currently active as an official at the high school level in Washington and at the collegiate level in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and British Columbia. He joined the College Officials Committee in 1993, and recently took over as the District 11 governor for the committee. He also serves as the District 11 assigning authority for Pacific Northwest Collegiate Lacrosse League contests. Keith co-founded the Washington Lacrosse Officials Association in 1999, and continues to serve as an association board member. He also acts as the training coordinator and rules interpreter. He has worked seven collegiate semifinal and final matches, along with more than fifteen high school semifinal and final contests. In 2011 he was honored as the Washington Officials Association recipient of the Meritorious Service to Youth award.

Ian O’Hearn – Coach

Ian O’Hearn is currently the winningest coach in Washington State high school boys lacrosse history (with a record of 310 wins - 78 losses) in his 18 seasons with Mercer Island High School. In this time O’Hearn’s Islander teams have competed in 14 state final games earning 6 State Championships (3a) – more than any other coach in Washington. In addition, O’Hearn has produced 106 All-State/All-Conference recipients, 20 All-Americans and more than 80 players that have gone on to compete in college at the NCAA or MCLA level. O’Hearn’s contribution to Washington lacrosse goes beyond the shores of Mercer Island. He has been an integral member of the Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association (WHSBLA) as well as a founding member of the youth Greater Eastside Lacrosse League (GELL). He is also a founding member of the Washington Lacrosse Foundation and the WA Love Jamboree. In 2006 he developed the Northwest Invitational, the largest annual high school invitational tournament in the Pacific Northwest, attracting top teams from Oregon, Nevada, Idaho, Utah, Montana, British Columbia, California and the East Coast. O’Hearn grew up playing lacrosse in Loudonville, NY and played college lacrosse at the University at Albany. Under O’Hearn’s leadership, Mercer Island has competed in 17 State Quarterfinals, 16 State Semifinals and 14 State Championships, winning 6 State Championships total. At the conclusion of the 2010 and 2011 seasons, Mercer Island was ranked #21st & #24th in the country (respectively), the only high school team in the Northwest to ever crack the national Top 25.

Catherine Rodriguez – Player

Catherine Rodriguez played as a founding member of the Lake Sammamish Lacrosse Club, where she earned multiple honors including All American in 2006 and 2007. She also served as the team captain for three consecutive years. She was named to the 2nd Team All-State in 2004, and 1st Team All-State in 2005, 2006, and 2007. She was also an original member of the Puget Sound Select Team. After high school, she went on to play for Syracuse University, and became the first player from Washington State to play in the NCAA Division 1 Final Four in 2008 and again in 2010. Catherine was named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll all four years while attending Syracuse University. She was also named Big East Academic All-Star in 2008, and named to the Big East All-Academic Team in both 2010 and 2009. In 2010, she was named to the All-Big East Second Team, and in 2011 was named to the All-Big East First Team as well as the All- Northeast Region Second Team. She began her collegiate career as a low defender, making 12 appearances as a freshman, playing in all games and starting 6 as a sophomore, and starting 15 of 16 games as a junior. Her senior season she was moved to midfield, tallying 26 points on 24 goals and 2 assists. While at Syracuse, her team won one Big East Conference Championship in 2008 and made Final Four appearances in 2008 and 2010.

Tsering Short – Official

Tsering Short became a lacrosse official in 1989, and currently serves as the Chair of the Washington Women's Lacrosse Officials Association (WWLOA), where she prioritizes inclusion and positivity within the board and membership. As an official, and board member for WWLOA, she trained new officials in the classroom and on the field, officiated countless games, including many championships and semi finals, and assisted the board in the incorporation of WWLOA as a non-profit civic organization/league. In addition to serving as Education Chair, High School Liaison, and Board Chair, Tsering also implemented a Youth Safety Policy, and Diversity Equity & Inclusion Policy. She also advocated for and launched a mentoring program, and helped launch an online learning component for training new officials. She continues to officiate games from high school to post-collegiate, and play a major role in growing the game in Washington.

Erik Smith – Official

Erik Smith began officiating in 1995, and continues to officiate games from the youth to the collegiate level. In 1999 he co-founded the Washington Lacrosse Officials Association, (WALOA). Not only does Erik officiate extensively during the lacrosse season, he also acts as an assignor, mentor, trainer and recruiter. Erik coordinates multiple schedules across multiple levels of play, assigning officials to games that match their availability and skill levels. Erik helped lead the development of the Master Bench Official (MBO) program which provides concrete feedback and on-field support to officials. He also established the first officials training in conjunction with a preseason event as a training platform for official skill development. In the off-season, he spends his time working with tournament directors, league managers, and officials to get qualified officials on the field.

Christopher Taylor – Player

Christopher Tayler played lacrosse at Mercer Island High School from 2002-2005, where he received multiple awards, including being named to the All-State Teams in 2003, 2004, and 2005, as well as being named All American in 2005. He became the first player from Washington State to be recruited and receive a scholarship to play for a Top 10 Division I Team, Georgetown University, where he played from 2005-2009. During his collegiate career at Georgetown University, Christopher served as a two-time team captain, won the Outstanding Freshman Award, Coach’s Award, and was named to the ECAC All-Academic Team in 2008, and the CoSIDA Academic All-District 2 First Team in 2009. He went on to become the first player from Washington State to be drafted professionally in the National Lacrosse League, and the first Washington player to play professionally for the MLL (Major League Lacrosse). He has played for the Marin Lacrosse Club in San Francisco from 2011-2013, the Baywater Lacrosse Club in Perth, Australia in 2010 and the Washington Bayhawks in Baltimore, Maryland in 2009. He was inducted into the Mercer Island High School Hall of Fame in 2010 for lacrosse and football.

USA Lacrosse - WA Chapter: http://usl-washington.website.sportssignup.com/hall-of-fame/inductees